This review analyzes published product information. We have not performed detailed research of this unit.

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.

A focused pairing of WQHD resolution and 240Hz

The MSI MAG 274QP QD-OLED X24 combines a 2560 × 1440 Quantum Dot OLED panel with a listed 240Hz refresh rate. That pairing makes it worth considering for a gaming setup where both panel characteristics and refresh headroom matter. Its specification sheet is less decisive about the practical details: port counts, some stand movements and the conditions behind its brightness claim remain unspecified.

This is a specification-based review of the X24 variant, using the supplied retailer listing rather than detailed research. The listing markets it as a 27-inch monitor while specifying a 26.5-inch panel in the feature details. Nothing supplied establishes measured input latency, real-world motion quality or long-term panel durability.

The specifications that define this variant

Model MSI MAG 274QP QD-OLED X24
Panel and size Quantum Dot OLED; 27-inch marketing size, 26.5-inch panel specification
Resolution and refresh 2560 × 1440 WQHD; 240Hz
Response and synchronization 0.03ms listing claim; Adaptive-Sync listed
Color claims 10-bit, 1.07 billion colors, 99% DCI-P3, Delta E ≤2
Contrast and brightness claims 1,500,000:1 native contrast; up to 400 nits peak brightness
Connections DisplayPort 1.4a and HDMI 2.1 with CEC; listing describes WQHD/240Hz support
Stand and mounting Tilt and height adjustment in title; four-way adjustment claimed in features; VESA 100mm listed
Listed dimensions and weight 23.9 × 9.5 × 16.8 inches; 20.7 pounds; measurement configuration unspecified
Software features OLED Care 2.0, AI Crosshair, console modes and Game Assistance

Panel appeal, with important brightness caveats

The panel is the main reason to shortlist this monitor. MSI describes Quantum Dot color conversion combined with self-emitting OLED pixels, alongside a claimed native contrast ratio of 1,500,000:1. On paper, this points toward a display aimed at buyers who value dark-scene presentation and color range as well as fast refresh. Those specifications do not establish how a particular game will look in your room.

The color claims are substantial: 10-bit output, 1.07 billion colors and 99% DCI-P3 coverage. A Delta E ≤2 accuracy claim also appears, but the listing does not explain the test mode, reference target or calibration conditions. Treat that figure as a manufacturer claim, not independent evidence that every preset is accurate or that the monitor is ready for color-critical work without verification.

Brightness needs similar restraint. The stated maximum is up to 400 nits, with no supplied window size, duration or SDR-versus-HDR context. That leaves too little information to judge sustained bright scenes or suitability beside a bright window. The listing also claims an improved subpixel arrangement for sharper images, but provides neither a layout diagram nor text-rendering evidence. Buyers planning substantial reading or desktop work should not take that wording as proof of ideal text clarity.

What the gaming specifications do—and do not—promise

WQHD resolution and 240Hz are a clear match for someone choosing refresh headroom without moving to a higher-resolution display. Whether your system can make useful use of that refresh rate depends on the games, settings and hardware involved; the monitor specification alone cannot answer that. The relevant buying decision is whether 2560 × 1440 suits your desired detail level and your system’s workload.

The title lists a 0.03ms response time, but does not state its measurement method or conditions. It is not a measured input-lag result, nor does it independently establish freedom from motion artifacts. Adaptive-Sync is also listed, although its operating range and any GPU-specific certification are absent. If synchronization compatibility is central to your purchase, those details deserve confirmation for your exact graphics hardware.

AI Crosshair, console modes and Game Assistance round out the gaming feature list. Their names establish their inclusion, not their behavior in specific games. They should be secondary considerations rather than reasons to overlook missing compatibility details. For a wider discussion of this refresh category, see our 240Hz gaming monitor guide.

Connections: useful standards, incomplete implementation details

The supplied listing names DisplayPort 1.4a and HDMI 2.1 with CEC, and describes the interface options as supporting WQHD at 240Hz. That gives PC and HDMI-source users a useful starting point. It does not guarantee that every attached computer, console or laptop can produce that mode; the source device and its supported output modes still need to match.

Exact connector counts, bandwidth implementation and any compression requirements are not supplied. Neither are USB-C video, USB charging, a USB hub, KVM functions, speakers or audio-output details established. For a laptop docking setup or a desk shared by several systems, confirm the physical port inventory before assuming this monitor can replace other accessories.

Desk fit and OLED ownership questions

Tilt and height adjustment are explicitly named, while the feature text describes a four-way adjustable stand without identifying all four movements. Do not assume specific swivel or pivot capability from that phrase alone. VESA 100mm mounting is listed, but an arm purchase still calls for confirmation of the full mounting pattern and the display’s supported mounting weight.

The dimensions require caution too. Alongside 23.9 × 9.5 × 16.8 inches, the listing includes a separate 14 × 24 × 2.6-inch size entry without explaining the difference. Neither entry clearly identifies the stand configuration or height position. Use these as preliminary planning figures rather than definitive clearance measurements, especially on a shallow shelf or under an overhead cabinet. The 20.7-pound weight likewise lacks a clear stand or packaging qualifier.

OLED Care 2.0 is described as helping prevent burn-in, which makes it a relevant ownership feature rather than a durability guarantee. The evidence does not supply warranty coverage, maintenance timing or the protection system’s specific behavior. Those unknowns matter particularly if your routine includes long sessions with unchanged desktop elements.

Frequently asked questions

Is the MSI MAG 274QP QD-OLED X24 a 27-inch monitor or a 26.5-inch monitor?

It is marketed as a 27-inch monitor while the feature details specify a 26.5-inch panel. The published listing information does not explain the difference between the marketing size and panel specification. Buyers should therefore treat 27 inches as the listed product size description and 26.5 inches as the stated panel measurement.

Does the 0.03ms figure prove that this monitor has extremely low input lag?

No, the 0.03ms figure does not prove the monitor’s input-lag performance. It is a response-time claim, and the listing does not state its measurement method or conditions. The article also notes that no measured input-latency result was supplied, so this figure does not independently establish the monitor’s real-world responsiveness or freedom from motion artifacts.

Can this monitor deliver 240Hz from every computer or console?

No, the specification alone cannot establish that every computer, console or laptop can produce WQHD at 240Hz. The monitor lists DisplayPort 1.4a and HDMI 2.1 with CEC, but the source device must support the required output mode. Buyers should confirm the capabilities of their exact graphics hardware, console or laptop before purchase.

Is the 400-nit brightness claim enough to judge HDR or bright-room performance?

No, the up to 400-nit claim is not enough to judge sustained bright scenes or suitability beside a bright window. The listing does not provide the window size, duration or SDR-versus-HDR context behind that figure. The article therefore treats brightness as a manufacturer specification whose practical performance remains unverified.

What OLED warranty information is provided for this monitor?

The published listing information does not provide OLED warranty coverage. It mentions OLED Care 2.0 as a feature described as helping prevent burn-in, but it does not establish a durability guarantee, maintenance timing or the system’s specific behavior. Buyers concerned about long sessions with unchanged desktop elements should verify the warranty terms before committing.

Verdict: compelling core specifications, verification required

The MAG 274QP QD-OLED X24 is a plausible shortlist choice for a WQHD 240Hz gaming setup prioritizing OLED panel characteristics. Its strongest case rests on the panel, refresh rate and listed HDMI/DisplayPort support. Before committing, verify synchronization details, port counts, desk dimensions and OLED warranty terms; the supplied specifications do not settle those practical questions.

Source: supplied retailer listing for the MSI MAG 274QP QD-OLED X24.

Check the exact product and current offer on Amazon

msi MAG 274QP QD-OLED X24 27-Inch WQHD Gaming Monitor, 2560 x 1440 Quantum Dot OLED Panel, 240Hz, 0.03ms, Adaptive-Sync, HDMI2.1, DP 1.4a, Tilt/Height Adjustable, Black

Related guides

Browse all OLED Monitors guides →