This review analyzes published product information. We have not performed detailed research of this unit.

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.

A promising match for a mixed-use gaming desk

The ASUS ROG XG27ACS combines a 27-inch 2560 x 1440 display with a listed 180Hz refresh rate and Fast IPS technology. That combination makes it worth considering for a desk shared between gaming and everyday computer use: resolution, refresh rate and connection convenience all matter here, rather than any single headline specification.

This review evaluates the supplied retailer specifications, not a tested sample. The listing establishes the core display configuration, but leaves important questions about connectivity, ergonomics and HDR unanswered. Its strongest buying case is therefore the clearly identified 1440p 180Hz Fast IPS display; USB-C convenience and motion-processing promises deserve closer verification before becoming deciding factors.

The confirmed configuration and its gaps

Model ASUS ROG XG27ACS
Screen size and resolution 27 inches; 2560 x 1440
Panel technology ASUS Fast IPS
Listed refresh rate 180Hz
Advertised response time 1ms gray-to-gray; not independently measured here
Motion features ELMB SYNC with simultaneous variable refresh rate, according to the listing
USB-C DisplayPort-signal video and hub functionality claimed; power delivery and port layout unspecified
HDR HDR support listed; brightness and certification unspecified
Settings software DisplayWidget Center
Listed dimensions and weight 8.6 x 25.3 x 15.5 inches; 14.6 pounds; measurement configuration unspecified

Why the panel and resolution are the main attraction

The pairing of 27 inches and 2560 x 1440 is the most straightforward reason to shortlist this model. For buyers choosing between screen size and finer image detail, it offers a clearly defined desktop-sized configuration without requiring a move to a larger display. Whether that size is comfortable still depends on viewing distance, interface scaling and the space available on your desk.

The 180Hz specification points toward high-refresh gaming, but the display’s stated refresh ceiling should not be confused with the output your computer will deliver. Game settings, graphics hardware and the connection used remain relevant. The supplied listing does not identify which inputs support the full resolution and refresh rate together, so confirm that combination for your intended cable path.

ASUS describes the panel as Fast IPS and advertises a 1ms gray-to-gray response time. That is a manufacturer-style response specification, not a measured input-lag result or proof of equally fast transitions in every situation. There are no supplied test results for overshoot, response behavior across refresh rates or color accuracy. Buyers should not interpret the panel label alone as evidence of professional image-editing suitability.

Motion features need more than headline numbers

ELMB SYNC is the more distinctive motion-related feature in the evidence. The listing says it allows ASUS’s blur-reduction function to operate alongside variable refresh rate. In buying terms, that is useful to investigate if you want motion processing without automatically giving up adaptive refresh.

However, the seller’s assertion that this eliminates ghosting and tearing is not a result established by this review. The evidence does not provide an operating range, supported settings or any brightness tradeoff when ELMB is active. Treat simultaneous operation as the advertised capability, not a guarantee of flawless motion in every game.

The listing title also uses G-SYNC wording, but the published listing information do not establish a certification tier or connection-specific compatibility. If NVIDIA adaptive-refresh support is essential to your setup, verify the exact support rather than relying on that title alone. Likewise, HDR appears in the description without brightness, contrast or certification details. HDR labeling is not enough here to judge highlight impact or dark-scene performance.

USB-C is useful only if it matches your setup

The retailer describes USB-C video transmission using a DisplayPort signal and also claims hub functionality for wired peripherals. Those are potentially helpful features for someone connecting a laptop or trying to simplify a desktop workspace. They are not, however, a complete docking specification.

No USB-C charging wattage is supplied. The evidence also omits the number and type of downstream USB connections, data speeds and supported video modes over USB-C. You should therefore not assume this monitor can charge your laptop, connect every peripheral or run at its full advertised refresh rate through one cable.

Before buying for USB-C use, check both the monitor’s detailed connection documentation and your computer’s video-output capabilities. For a desktop graphics card, confirm the available display inputs and required cable separately: the supplied facts do not provide a complete HDMI or DisplayPort inventory. This is a meaningful documentation gap, not evidence that those connections are absent.

Desk fit and everyday control

The listed dimensions are 8.6 x 25.3 x 15.5 inches, with a weight of 14.6 pounds. These figures offer an initial space-planning reference, but the listing does not explain the measurement configuration. They should not be treated as a verified stand footprint or a complete description of the monitor’s adjustable height range.

Height adjustment, tilt range, swivel, pivot and mounting compatibility are not established in the supplied evidence. That matters if your desk uses a shelf, an arm or a carefully positioned viewing height. Confirm those details before planning the installation, especially if an adjustable stand is a requirement rather than a preference.

DisplayWidget Center is a clearer everyday convenience: the listing says it allows on-screen display access and monitor-setting changes using a mouse. For users who adjust settings regularly, that could make control more convenient, although software compatibility and the full set of supported adjustments are not specified.

Frequently asked questions

Is the ASUS ROG XG27ACS suitable for professional photo or video editing?

It is not established as suitable for professional image editing from the published listing information. The monitor uses a 27-inch 2560 x 1440 Fast IPS panel, but no test results are provided for color accuracy. The advertised 1ms gray-to-gray response time also does not establish image quality or professional editing performance.

Can the monitor charge a laptop over USB-C?

Laptop charging over USB-C is not confirmed. The listing describes USB-C video transmission using a DisplayPort signal and claims hub functionality for wired peripherals, but it does not provide USB-C charging wattage. Buyers should check the monitor’s detailed connection documentation and their computer’s video-output capabilities before relying on one cable.

Does the monitor support HDR well?

The article cannot establish how well HDR performs. HDR support is listed, but the published listing information does not specify brightness, contrast or certification. As a result, the HDR label alone does not show how much highlight impact or dark-scene performance the monitor provides.

What stand adjustments and mounting options does it have?

The supplied evidence does not establish the stand’s adjustment range or mounting compatibility. Height adjustment, tilt range, swivel, pivot and mounting compatibility are not specified. The listed dimensions are 8.6 x 25.3 x 15.5 inches and the weight is 14.6 pounds, but the measurement configuration is unspecified.

Can it run 2560 x 1440 at 180Hz through any connection?

The article does not identify which inputs support 2560 x 1440 and 180Hz together. The display is listed with a 2560 x 1440 resolution and 180Hz refresh rate, but the supplied facts do not provide a complete HDMI or DisplayPort inventory. Confirm the required cable, input and computer output for the intended connection.

Verdict: buy for the display, verify the extras

The XG27ACS has a coherent specification-based appeal: a 27-inch 1440p Fast IPS screen, 180Hz refresh and advertised simultaneous blur reduction and variable refresh rate. It is a sensible candidate for buyers prioritizing those fundamentals. It is less straightforward for anyone requiring documented laptop charging, a fully specified USB hub or proven HDR performance.

Check connection modes and stand details before committing. For broader context on choosing this resolution, see our 1440p gaming monitor guide.

Sources: Supplied ASUS ROG XG27ACS retailer listing. Specifications and advertised capabilities above come from this listing; performance has not been independently researched here.

Check the exact product and current offer on Amazon

ASUS ROG XG27ACS 27 Inch 1440p 180Hz USB-C G-SYNC HDR Gaming Monitor

Related guides

Browse all Gaming Monitors guides →